We Made It

Cleared Strawberry Melomel

Cleared Strawberry Melomel

Well, you will be happy to know (I was happy to know, at the very least) that my fears of faulty cabinet construction were quite unfounded. Arriving home late this afternoon, I found that I had lost one bottle of apple wine to a popped cork, but have come to grips with this state of affairs. May my upcoming attempts to bottle be more successful!

In all seriousness, I did lose one bottle, and though disappointed, it is much better than the thought of losing an entire season’s efforts, however lackluster they may or may not be once opened.

So that was downstairs. What did I find upstairs? Wonderful things! The strawberry melomel has cleared to a delightful shade, as you can see in the photo. Still bubbling slightly, though! The braggot has stopped bubbling altogether, and is quite cleared. Though I guess it was already fairly clear before I left. I ought to have checked its SG, I suppose. I will probably do so tomorrow. In any case, I think a bottling session is in order. Should be interesting, as I intend to bottle some of the four gallons in wine bottles, and the rest will be primed into cider/beer bottles, just to see what comes of it. Questions now swim through my mind like:

  • Should I prime with sugar or honey? I’m leaning honey.
  • How much sugar or honey?
  • What proportion should I bottle with cork versus crown cap?
  • How does it taste?

I think you get the idea.

Lastly, the mead. It is nowhere near stopping bubbling, and is midway to clearing. It will be a little while longer. But good progress!

Well, it is good to be back home. And good to see things have proceeded well in my absence. Good little yeast.

Leave a Reply

