My First Yeast Starter, Part Deux

It’s alive!

Yes, after the lack of activity yesterday, my Internet research paid off. The addition of water gave the yeast enough breathing room to get busy reproducing, as evidenced by the lightly bubbling brew on my counter top.

There was no krausen, as expected, just bubbles. I had been regularly shaking just a bit, and made the mistake of doing that this morning, one last time – with results much like shaking a can of soda. But I minimized the damage.

One other thing I noticed was that once the yeast were active, a white layer of sediment began to form, on top of the brown sediment that had previously been present. That was actually the first indication things were on the right path.

Well, looks like tonight I will start the quad.

Leave a Reply

