Follow-up On Appley-Goodness

Today, I ‘cleaned up” from all the work earlier in the weekend. A busy weekend, but one spent doing fun things, and plenty of time spent with family and friends.

Early this morning, before going to praise team practice, I pitched the yeast into the cider bucket. Before doing so, I checked the SG for the first time (1.050 – perfect). I also added 2 tsp. of yeast nutrient and 1 tsp. of yeast energizer; I would have used two tsp. of the yeast energizer, but one was all I had. Will need to remember to pick up more next time I’m in Greenville.

Then later in the afternoon, I got around to re-pressing the rehydrated apple pomace. I think I got around another 3 gallons of juice from the pressing, not as flavorful or sweet as the first, but still quite decent. I would say it is a little weaker than the apple juice you usually buy in the store, but the flavor it has is more apple than the store-bought stuff. Some we froze, and some we have in the refrigerator for drinking. We’re going to need another refrigerator… I’m very happy with everything we got out of the apples we picked!

Then I moved onto cleaning up the press for storage… it does take a lot of time to press, especially when including cleanup…

Leave a Reply

