Ginger Bug in Action

Today, my friend was delivered her long-craved ginger beer. Yay, me!

The “wild” fermentation still seems rather motionless. The other two continue to eat, drink and be merry. But the two ginger beers I started have made their way to completion. The first to reach completion was the beer-yeast trial, in less than 24 hours. The wine-yeast took over 48, to reach a similar level of carbonation and pressure in the jug. In both cases, that is some definite speed, I think. Based on sampling each, I chose to add an additional 1/2 cup of white sugar to each. Looking back at my older ginger ale/beer without the bug, this was morer consistent with the proportions, though not exact.

My friend got the beer-yeast version this morning, and this evening I put the wine-yeast version in the refrigerator to chill for tomorrow. Thus, not a lot to say about flavor. Looking forward to that, tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

